TPS write Finnish floorball history – grab first F-liiga title

TPS from Turku are F-liiga  women’s champions after a 2-1 away victory against last year’s champions PSS Porvoo. It took all seven final games to decide this year’s winner.

After two victories by challengers TPS, PSS won three straight and were just one goal from the title as Game 6 went into overtime in Turku with PSS leading 3-2 in games. But it was not to be as PSS took a penalty in the overtime and TPS’ notoriously lethal power-play unit was able to play the ball to Meri-Helmi Höynälä to score the winner.

In the decisive game before a sold-out arena, PSS took the lead in the first period but TPS turned the game around in the third. First, Milla Nordlund tied the game up and just a few minutes later Sofia Leino dropped a pass from behind the goalline and Noora Vuorela scored from near the front post.

This year’s gold was TPS women’s first ever medal.

More final game photos by Jarmo Koskela