F-liiga trophies for 2020-2021 announced – these are the winners

The planned first annual gala fell through because of the ongoing COVID-19 situation but that did not stop F-liiga from declaring and honouring the winners.

Here are the trophies for the first ever F-liiga season:

F-liiga men

Best goalkeeper: Miro Tuomala, Nokian KrP

Best defender: Mikko Leikkanen, Classic

Best forward: Eemeli Salin, Classic

Top scorer: Sami Johansson, Classic

Tupla+ player (top scorer of his team for the longest time during the season): Peter Kotilainen, Happee

Best referee pair voted by the players: Mikko Alakare-Vesa Vilkki

Rookie of the year: Waltteri Vesterinen, TPS

MIKA KOHONEN trophy for best player of the season voted by the players: Sami Johansson, Classic

F-liiga women

Best goalkeeper: Flavia Niemelä, Rankat Ankat

Best defender: Iida Mettälä, FBC Loisto

Best forward: Hanna Niemelä, Rankat Ankat

Top scorer: Hanna Niemelä, Rankat Ankat

Best referee pair voted by the players: Tom Kirjonen-Jyrki Sirkka

Rookie of the year: Henriikka Järvi, Pirkat

Best player of the season voted by the players: Hanna Niemelä, Rankat Ankat

Wednesday also saw two important trophies decided by the Finnish Floorball Federation.

Best floorball act of the year: All F-liiga and Divari clubs for their responsible action during the COVID-19 pandemic keeping the number of infections in the sports at an almost nonexistent level.

Pekan Malja (named after the father of floorball in Finland Pekka Mukkala): Mika Hujanen for his years of charity work collecting money and resources to provide equipment and opportunities to young people to take part in floorball.