End of an era – Classic eliminated

Oilers brought an era to its end as they eliminated reigning F-liiga champions Classic in four straight games in this year’s quarter-finals. Classic had won the title six times straight since 2016. In the semi-finals, Oilers will take on regular season winners Nokian KrP as TPS and Happee fight for the other spot in the finals.

It was Oilers’ first unit with Justus Kainulainen, Aaro Astala, Heikki Iiskola, Matias Veikkola and Antti Suominen that roamed in the series against Classic, demolishing the champions’ first line time after time. Two of the four games were decided in overtime with Justus Kainulainen and Antti Suomela scoring the winners.

In the three remaining series’ Nokian KrP cleared OLS in four straight as Westend Indians achieved one victory against TPS as did SPV against Happee.

Classic’s and SPV’s seasons ending also meant goodbye to major F-liiga profiles as Classic’s master defender Mikko Leikkanen and SPV captain Ville Kuusela announced their retirements.

In the F-liiga qualification, eight teams have been reduced to four as this year’s F-liiga teams EräViikingit and FBC Turku ares till there to defend their spots. EräViikingit will face LNM and FBC Turku will play M-Team in best of five series’.