TPS victorious in game 1, Oilers medalists again

TPS Turku started F-liiga final series with a 4-3 overtime at Nokian KrP on Friday. In the bronze medal game, Oilers ended their season with a 9-4 away win against Happee.

In the first final, Nokian KrP drew first blood in the first period but in the second TPS answered with three straight goals scored by Mikko Hautaniemi, Tuomas Ojala and Ville Hirvisuo. KrP came back with a power-play goal by Mikko Laakso, and five minutes before the final buzzer, Miska Mäkinen brought the home team abreast with his equalizer. The game went into overtime where merely 21 seconds were needed before Miko Kailiala directed Lauri Stenfors’ pass past KrP goalie Miro Tuomala who had stopped Kailiala’s penalty shot in the second period.

The final series will be continued in Turku on Sunday.

in Finland only there are no bronze medals for both semi-final losers but they will have to play for them. in this year’s edition Justus Kainulainen and Aaro Astala both had two goals and two assists as Oilers spoiled the evening for the 900 Jyväskylä spectators with a 9-4 win. Happee came back from 1-4 to 3-4 in the second period but Oilers then sped away to 6-3 to put three balls into Happee’s empty net in the final minutes of the game.

Photos by Esa Takalo and Esa Jokinen